I’ve often wondered what really makes someone your soul mate… is it the one you have vowed to spend the rest of your life with? Or maybe it’s that best friend who knows you better than you know yourself. For me, I’d have to choose the latter.

My best friend is beyond amazing… you should be jealous. And as much as I love my future husband I don’t truly believe he’s my soul mate. To me a soul mate is someone who would never judge you and always forgive all your mistakes without a second thought. Let’s face it.. spouses and significant others are often torn apart easily by things such as jealousy, lack of communication, and trust just to name a few. I could kill my best friends puppy intentionally and we would still be friends. Not that I would ever do that, that’s terrible.

My bestie Rachel knows my deepest and darkest secrets, has seen me make many poor choices and has never once judged me for it or thought less of me. She’s pretty easy to read so I would know if she had. She’s stood by me through the most difficult times in my life and if it wasn’t for her love and support I don’t know where I would be today…

But calling her my soul mate seems odd. I think it’s due to the fact that as humans we have this desire to have a romantic relationship. One with affection and sex. So if it weren’t for these things would we be in relationships at all? Or would we just use members of the opposite sex for breeding purposes and then go our separate ways?

And then there’s the question of LOVE… I love Cliff, but I love Rachel. What makes them different? The sexual desire, need for affection and romantic attention probably. If it weren’t for those things then I could totally just marry Rachel and be perfectly happy for the rest of my life.

People put so much effort in making sure their romantic relationships work, which is great and we should. But lets not forget the other relationships in our lives… because who will you have if your romancer leaves? And maybe you’re one of those people who happens to have the best of both worlds and really are romantically involved with your soul mate…and that’s great. All’s I know is I could “cheat” on Rachel and she still wouldn’t leave me. It wouldn’t even be a thought.

10392438_10153803441116823_6165965638848574948_n
My bestie Rachel (glasses) and I
